The beauty of Laos

5 May

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Back in 2008 I spent some time in Laos, I loved the place. The country only really opened up to tourists in the 1990s and at least when I visited, it was so far untouched by global corporations like McDonalds and Starbucks, which was nice.

I especially enjoyed my time in Luang Prabang. pictures 116-1

One of the things I was able to do in Luang Prabang in between sightseeing was to help local students with their English as part of a program called Big Brother Mouse. Si Phan Don (Four Thousand Islands), in the Mekong River was also an amazing place to explore, I still remember all the locals saying “sabaidee” (hello) as I wandered down the small paths around the islands. I’d love to go back and would be interested to see if much has changed.

One Response to “The beauty of Laos”

  1. James With June 9, 2014 at 3:07 am #

    Laos is a very interesting country indeed and I have filmed there. As a journalist, you may be interested in an Australian film project that focuses on a true story that is worth following up on: https://www.facebook.com/thebodhitreemovie

Leave a comment